What does a “regionally accredited” college mean?

In order for coursework to be acceptable, the college or university must be accredited by one of the six regional associations. Schools typically indicate if and how they are accredited on their websites. The six regional associations are:

  • Southern Association of Colleges and Schools
  • Middle States Commission on Higher Education (formerly known as Middle States Association of Colleges and Schools)
  • New England Association of Schools and Colleges
  • North Central Association of Colleges and Secondary Schools
  • Northwest Commission on Colleges and Universities (formerly known as Northwest Association of Schools and Colleges)
  • Western Association of Schools and Colleges